"Galerie des rois" collection

The Palace of Versailles and Saint-Louis have joined forces to create "Galerie des rois" – a unique collection of four crystal tumblers. In honour of the four kings who had the greatest influence on the destiny of the Palace of Versailles – from Louis XIV, who designed it, to Louis-Philippe, who turned it into a museum – the master glassmakers of Saint-Louis have designed and created a collection of tumblers inspired by the individual styles of Louis XIV, Louis XV, Louis XVI and Louis-Philippe. The universal and contemporary shape of the tumbler accentuates the beauty of the cut glass.

A limited edition, the collection will be available to buy on subscription only from 16 May to 30 September 2019. The proceeds will go towards the restoration and refurbishment of the Palace of Versailles.

Dimensions
Diameter: 80 mm
Height: 90 mm
Volume: 270 ml

Louis XIV – the flamed bevels
Louis XIV (1638-1715), known as the Sun King, transformed what was his father's hunting lodge into a palace that embodies the majesty of both France and his reign. His eponymous style has a firm place in the history of Decorative Arts. The Hall of Mirrors and the Apartment of the Planets – where Mercury and the sun feature prominently – have inspired a deep-cut, flame-worked crystal with star-shaped sides. As a result, light diffracts beautifully through the glass to form a flamboyant halo.
Louis XV – the shells
A guardian of manufactures and the arts, Louis XV (1710-1774) signed letters patent in 1767 conferring the title of "Royal Glassworks of Saint-Louis" on the Münzthal glassworks. The new title was in honour of Louis IX, known as Saint-Louis. The cut of this tumbler pays homage to the Rococo style, which Louis XV introduced, in its proliferation of plant motifs. Acanthus and palms still adorn the wainscoting and panelling in the King's apartments in the Palace. Cut in the form of a Rococo crown, the bevelling calls to mind gleaming stylised palmettes or a firework display lighting up the lavish parties held at the Palace.
Louis XVI – the laurel wreath
Louis XVI (1754-1793), the artisan king, set up a locksmith's workshop at Versailles. His intricate knowledge of the arts inspired him to return to classical antiquity and completely overhaul the decorative style in fashion at Court at the time. The Petit Trianon and the dairy at Rambouillet are indicative of this return to the Greek style and geometric shapes. The George Jacob furniture was Saint-Louis' inspiration for the priestly wreath of corn and laurel which encircles the tumbler.
Louis-Philippe – the armors
It was Louis-Philippe (1773-1850) who converted the Palace into a museum. He presented key objects and events from French history, celebrated chivalry and noble deeds, arranged the panelling and organised everything according to rooms. His decorative influence drew on the style of the Middle Ages. Heros and heroism are symbolised on the tumbler by star-shaped cutting and fine bevelling, which create a veritable helmet of crystal.

Coffret « Galerie des rois »

Le château de Versailles et Saint-Louis s’associent pour proposer en série limitée le coffret inédit de quatre gobelets de cristal « Galerie des rois ». En hommage aux quatre rois qui ont particulièrement influé sur la destinée du château de Versailles – de Louis XIV qui l’a conçu à Louis-Philippe qui l’a transformé en musée – les artisans de Saint-Louis ont imaginé et créé un coffret de gobelets inspirés par leurs styles éponymes, Louis XIV, Louis XV, Louis XVI et Louis-Philippe. La forme universelle et contemporaine du gobelet magnifie l’art de la taille.

Edité en série limitée, le coffret est mis en vente exclusivement par souscription du 16 mai au 30 septembre 2019. Les bénéfices contribueront à la restauration et au remeublement du château de Versailles.

Dimensions 
Diamètre : 80 mm
Hauteur : 90 mm 
Volume : 27cl

340,00 €

Livraison ou retrait à partir du 15 octobre 2019
Louis XIV - les biseaux flammés
Louis XIV, dit le Roi-Soleil (1638-1715) transforme le pavillon de chasse de son père en château qui incarne la grandeur de la France et de son règne. Son style éponyme marque l’histoire des Arts Décoratifs. La Galerie des Glaces et l’appartement des Planètes – où figure notamment Mercure, le soleil – ont inspiré une taille profonde du cristal en biseaux flammés et en côtes plates. Elle multiplie la diffraction des rayons de lumière et forme un halo flamboyant.
Louis XV - les coquilles
Protecteur des manufactures et des arts, Louis XV (1710-1774) confère en 1767 par lettre patente à la verrerie de Münzthal le titre de « Verrerie royale de Saint-Louis » en hommage à Louis IX, dit Saint-Louis. La taille de son gobelet rend hommage au style Rocaille, qu’il a initié, caractérisé par le foisonnement de motifs végétaux. Acanthes et palmes tapissent toujours les lambris et panneaux des appartements de Versailles où vécut le Roi. Tel un diadème rocaille, la taille biseau crée d’éclatantes palmettes stylisées, ou une ronde de feux d’artifices qui illuminent les fêtes somptueuses au château.
Louis XVI - la couronne de laurier
Roi Artisan, Louis XVI (1754-1793) installe son atelier de serrurier à Versailles, sa connaissance intime des arts lui inspire un retour à l’Antiquité et le renouvellement profond du style décoratif en vogue à la Cour. Le Petit Trianon ou la laiterie de Rambouillet marquent ce retour à l’Antique et aux compositions géométriques. Son mobilier signé Georges Jacob a inspiré à Saint-Louis une hiératique couronne de blés et de lauriers qui ceint le gobelet.
Louis-Philippe - les armures
Louis-Philippe (1773-1850) transforme le Château en musée. Il met en scène les objets et les faits marquants de l’Histoire de France, magnifie la chevalerie et les hauts-faits, range dans les panneaux, classe selon les salles. Son influence décorative emprunte au vocabulaire stylistique du Moyen-Âge. Hérauts et héroïsme sont symbolisés sur le gobelet par des côtes plates et de fins biseaux qui forgent un véritable heaume de cristal.