Saint-Louis & the Palace of Versailles

Two symbols of the French art of living
For more than 250 years, the Palace of Versailes and the Saint-Louis crystal works have carved out a friendship in crystal around The Table and, in doing so, have contributed to promoting the glowing reputation of France and its exceptional craftmanship.
Four centuries in the making, the Palace of Versailles is a symbol in itself of the French art of living – the product of royal style and the expertise of the Crown's manufactures.
In 1767, Louis XV himself signed letters patent conferring the name of Saint-Louis on the glassworks, in honour of Louis IX, as well as the title of "Royal" manufacture and a coat-of-arms, a crown. This invisible thread has been reinforced over time and through crystal creations.
Versailles as inspiration for Saint-Louis
The "Galerie des rois" collection slots nicely into the historical timeline that binds the Palace and the manufacture. In 1834, the "Trianon" collection of tableware set the standard for beautifully dressed tables. In 1921, the silhouette of the iconic "Versailles" vase was based on the vessels in the Palace gardens.
Later, in 1938, the president of the Republic, Albert Lebrun, hosted a lunch at Versailles for the King of England, George VI, and his wife Elizabeth, in honour of the Tommies – British soldiers who fought in the First World War. Taking pride of place at the banquet were 2,200 glasses – 11 per guest – from the Saint-Louis "Tommy" service. This historic meal was recreated at the Palace in 2008.
The "Galerie des rois", crowns of crystal
In 2019, the Palace of Versailles and Saint-Louis are continuing the adventure with the “Galerie des rois” set: four hundred years, four kings, four decorative styles for four tumblers. Patrick Neu, head of design for Saint-Louis, came up with the idea for the decoration.
His delicate, intricate work focused on the materials and traditional expertise on which he likes to draw. The artist wanted to produce something contemporary while also retaining the pure lines so characteristic of the Palace's exquisite decoration. Rather than simply reproducing an illustration of the Palace it involved stretching the imagination beyond the established ideas about Versailles. The next step was to adapt these imaginings to the material in hand, crystal, as well as to the available tools and skills, which all involved significant constraints.
These four crystal tumblers pay tribute to the decor of Versailles, as well as the extraordinary skills of the crystal works.
Saint-Louis: 430 years of crystal
Since the 16th century, beneath the great hall of this manufacture nestled in the heart of the Vosges mountains, in the hot workshop, men have performed their skilful dance around the ferocious element that is fire, rather like a corps de ballet in a series of deft and repetitive movements. The most powerful glassblower, face reddened by the flames, shapes the molten crystal mass. Next to him, another craftsman takes the blowpipe and twists, hollows and stretches the thick mass into a delicate coil before sliding the hot crystal into a mould, where it sets instantly.
Having survived the ordeal by fire, the piece of crystal is separated from the blowpipe by a drop of water. It can now leave the great hall and move on to the cold workshop...
Extraordinary expertise
… This is where the crafstman sets about cutting and decorating the exceptional pieces. In his expert hands, the design of the cut pattern gradually appears. It is work that requires a sure hand and a keen eye.
From the star-shaped cut to the iconic diamond cut, the work of the master cutter is principally decorative. The cold workshop demands artistry and skill, involving delicate movements that are constantly adjusted – between 30 and 35 times – in order to engrave and decorate a glass in 24-carat pure gold.
The manufacturing process is tightly controlled. Pieces are examined and selected by the expert eyes of the "selectors".
Only after this meticulous process of selection will the Saint-Louis signature be applied.

Saint-Louis & le château de Versailles

Deux symboles de l’art de vivre à la Française
Depuis 250 ans le château de Versailles et les cristalleries Saint-Louis cisèlent autour de La Table une amitié cristalline : tous deux ont contribué à l’excellence artisanale et au rayonnement de la France.
Façonné sur près de quatre siècles, le château de Versailles est le symbole même de l’art de vivre à la Française, le fruit du goût royal et du savoir-faire des manufactures de la couronne.
En 1767, Louis XV signe de sa main la lettre patente qui confère à la verrerie le nom de Saint-Louis en référence à Louis IX et lui octroie le titre de manufacture « Royale » ainsi que son blason, une couronne. Ce lien invisible qui unit les deux lieux se renouvelle à travers les époques et les pièces.
Quand Versailles inspire Saint-Louis
La « Galerie des rois » s’inscrit dans la frise historique qui lie le château et la manufacture. Conçu en 1834, le service de table « Trianon » lance la mode des belles tables. Son vase emblématique, « Versailles », créé en 1921, doit sa silhouette aux potiches des jardins du château.
Plus tard, en 1936, le Président de la République, Albert Lebrun, reçoit à déjeuner le roi George VI d’Angleterre et son épouse Elizabeth à Versailles pour célébrer le courage des soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale, les Tommies. Le banquet met en scène 2 200 verres du service Saint-Louis « Tommy », soit 11 pièces par convive. En 2008, une réplique de ce repas historique a été organisée au château.
« Galerie des Rois », couronnes de Cristal
En 2019, le château de Versailles et Saint-Louis poursuivent l’aventure avec le coffret « La Galerie des rois » : quatre cents ans, quatre Rois, quatre styles décoratifs pour quatre gobelets. Patrick Neu, responsable de la création pour Saint-Louis, en a imaginé les frises.
Tout en délicatesse, en légèreté, son travail s’est concentré sur les matériaux et les savoir-faire traditionnels qu’il aime à détourner. L’artiste souhaitait rester contemporain en gardant, à partir de l’ornementation très riche du château, des lignes épurées. Il ne s’agissait pas de restituer une illustration du château de Versailles, mais plutôt de solliciter l’imagination au-delà des nombreuses idées reçues à son sujet. Il a fallu ensuite les adapter à la matière particulière qu’est le cristal, à un outillage et à des savoir-faire qui présentent de fortes contraintes.
Ces quatre gobelets de cristal font honneur aux décors de Versailles comme aux savoir-faire extraordinaires des Cristalleries.
Saint-Louis : 430 ans en cristal
Depuis le 16e siècle, c'est sous la grande halle de cette manufacture nichée au cœur des Vosges, dans l'atelier du verre chaud, que commence la valse savante des hommes autour de la matière furieuse, officiant tel un corps de ballet aux gestes sûrs et longuement répétés. Le plus puissant des souffleurs, le visage rougi par les flammes, façonne la masse de cristal. Tout près, un autre tient la canne à souffler, il tord, il creuse, il étire la masse épaisse en une fine torsade avant de glisser le cristal brûlant dans un moule où il se fige instantanément.
Après avoir subi l’épreuve du feu, la pièce en cristal est alors séparée de la canne du souffleur par une goutte d’eau. Elle peut alors quitter la grande halle pour rejoindre l’atelier du froid…
Un savoir-faire extraordinaire
… L'artisan peut alors aborder la taille et l'aspect décoratif de pièces exceptionnelles. Sous ses doigts experts, s'esquisse peu à peu le dessin du motif de taille à réaliser. Son geste doit être sûr, son coup d'œil parfait. 
De la taille côte plate à la taille diamant emblématique, le travail du maître tailleur est avant tout celui d’un décorateur. Le froid est un métier d’art et d’excellence dont les gestes sont affinés, raffinés, sans cesse perfectionnés – de 30 à 35 interventions sont nécessaires pour un verre gravé et décoré à l’or fin 24 carats.
Un exigeant contrôle est présent tout au long du processus de fabrication. Les pièces sont examinées et choisies, sous l’œil avisé des « choisisseuses ».
Après ce choix minutieux, Saint-Louis peut apposer sa signature.